Time Tracking Add-on for JIRA

This simple plugin lets you connect JIRA with the XperienceHR Time Tracking application to save/edit/delete your work logs automatically in both systems.

JIRA and XperienceHR make the perfect match

XperienceHR adds to JIRA’s powerful project/task features the ability to track also non-project tasks and track employee time off.

  • track project meetings time
  • track R&D time
  • track sales meetings time
  • track proposal work
  • track other non-project hours

Additional Features

Enhance your use of JIRA with project budget tracking, expense tracking, set of reports plus iPhone / Android apps to track your time and time off on the go. Timesheet locking and approvals make XperienceHR a reliable tool for your project reporting.

JIRA Data Not Modified

JIRA data synced and used to generate the billing report in XperienceHR remain unchanged. Your internal review of employee performance based on tracked time is not affected by any modifications made to the time you actually bill the client.

FREE Remote Setup

Contact us and request that we do the setup for you. Our support team will be glad to set JIRA plugin and test the synchronization with XperienceHR using Teamviewer to save you hassle of figuring it on your own.

Setup Instructions

Configure XperienceHR

1. Employee Sign-in name in XperienceHR and in JIRA MUST match
– to edit employee Sign-in name, go to Configurations > Employees > Edit Employee (yellow pencil)- or click Add New Employee and enter matching Sign-in name

 

2. Each employee must set his Default Task (different meaning than in Jira, Task in XperienceHR is programing, meeting, research – not a specific piece of work to be done as in Jira)
– go to Configuration > My Settings > Frequent Tasks and select Default Task (Jira doesn’t have Task types, we recommend to use a general task name for Jira logged work such as Working or Programing, it can be modified in XperienceHR afterwards)- only administrator can create Tasks- Default task has to be either: Can add Task to Project or Must add Task to Project. If you select Cannot Add Task to Project in XperienceHR, Time and Note will be saved, but no project.- if no Default Task is set, time will not be saved.

 

3. Project code MUST match Jira Project code
– go to Clients & Projects > Projects > +Add New Project > Enter information and the CODE- if project code doesn’t match, time will not be saved.

 

4. Generate API Key
– you will need to generate API Key to enter it into Jira Plugin configuration- go to Configuration > Settings > scroll all the way down > click Generate- select and copy this API key

Configure JIRA

1. Download the XperienceHR Time Tracking Cloud Connector Plugin for Jira
2. Unzip the file
3. Install the plugin into Jira. It’s name is XperienceHR Time Tracking Cloud Connector. (Administration > Plugins)
4. Click on the plugin name > click button Configure
5. Enter the API Key
5. Click Save

Possible reasons for not syncing

If you followed all the steps correctly and you do not see the hours in XperienceHR, here are some possible issues you may want to double check:

1. Writing into closed month

XperienceHR will not allow to write into a closed month. If you need JIRA to create more worklogs there, you must reopen the timesheet. Go to Home -> Timesheets, select the employees timesheet, click Edit (pencil) and click button ‘Reopen for employee’.

 

2. Workweek start date

Check employee settings ->Workweek for the start date. For free trial admin user it is the signup date. Make sure that your JIRA worklog is not created for an earlier date, or go to Employee settings and change the workweek start date to an earlier date.

3. Default task chosen has parameter ‘Cannot Add Task to a Project’ 

You are able to set certain tasks to be forbidden to be tracked on a project. If this is the case, user either needs to select a different default task, or go to Configuration -> Tasks, and edit the task to ‘Can Add Task to a Project’.

 

4. User is not a Project Team member

Check Project detail settings -> click the Project team tab to make sure that the project is available to ALL users or the user in question is checked as a team member.